My First Crown but not My Last

maxresdefaultLast month, I had to go to the dentist to get my very first crown done.  My poor molar had been worn down to the enamel and had cracked. My best solution was getting a crown done to save the tooth.  It was no fun, but was better than the alternatives – removal with subsequent implant or doing nothing to the damaged tooth and ending up with a root canal and then a crown.  Sitting in the dentist’s chair, I got to thinking about other kinds of crowns.

queen-elizabeth-2-435 I was not born into a royal family so I will never wear the crown of a princess or a queen.   However, I have the chance to receive a far more glorious crown:

Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, watching over them—not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve; not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock. And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that will never fade away. 1 Peter 5:2-4

gal-miss-america-10-jpgI was not endowed with a model’s body or face, so I will never wear the crown of Miss America or Miss Universe.   However, I do get the opportunity to receive the crown of life one day.

 Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him. James 1:12

0f0ba3654005786cbaffcf7f7876ce9c

I was not born centuries ago, where I might have the opportunity to win a victor’s crown in an athletic event. However, I am given the opportunity to run in the heavenly race and receive an eternal crown of righteousness:

Be faithful, even to the point of death, and I will give you life as your victor’s crown  Revelation 2:11

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.  Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever  1 Corinthians 9:24-25

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus  Hebrews 12:1-2

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness,which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.  2 Timothy 4:7-8

I hope that I won’t need another dental crown any time soon, but I am very much looking forward to receiving the eternal victor’s crown of life, righteousness, and glory some day from my King.  Oh what a day that will be!

Jesus says, “Yes, I am coming soon.”

Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.

The grace of the Lord Jesus be with God’s people. Amen.  Revelation 22:20-21

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My First Crown but not My Last

  1. Jolane Shaffer says:

    Good article. FYI–My dentist no longer makes crowns, but makes a new “tooth” and adheres it to the stump of my own tooth. No more cavities UNDER the crown 🙂 Think this is a fairly new procedure–within the last 5 yrs.

    Like

Leave a comment